Franklin County Township Association Annual Meeting Minutes

January 21, 2021, 6-7:30 p.m. via Zoom

Meeting was called to order by President Chet Chaney at 6:01 pm. Pledge of Allegiance was facilitated by Franklin Co Engineer Cornell Robertson.

Treasurer's Report was presented by Nancy White and approved with a motion by Dennis Nicodemus and 2nd by Chuck Buck. None were opposed.

Approval of meeting minutes for the April 9, 2020 and Oct 15, 2020 minutes was presented by Secretary Laura Kunze. The April minutes received a motion to approve by Dennis Nicodemus and a 2nd by Alex Aryeh. Motion carried without opposition. October minutes received a motion to approve by Dennis Nicodemus with a 2nd by Alex Aryeh. Motion carried without opposition.

Franklin County Engineer's updates were given by Cornell Robertson, including promotion of services available to help townships. These services include maps, resurfacing program, engineering, survey, and design. Some services are free, and others cost. 2021 planning is underway to he encouraged townships to reach out ASAP if any work is needed. He introduced Nick Soulas as the new Government Affairs Liaison.

Joe Mazzola, Commissioner Franklin County Public Health, and his team presented information on Naloxone programs, radon free tests available to residents and COVID19 vaccination progress and case number declines.

Eileen Leuby from MORPC discussed volunteer opportunities for medical professionals in the vaccine efforts and an upcoming presentation on vaccine/labor laws.

Alex Aryeh, Nominations Chair of the FCTA, presented FCTA roles for nomination and facilitated voting for 2021 as follows:

President- Dennis Nicodemus nominated Chet Chaney. There was no other nomination and Dennis Nicodemus motioned to approve, seconded by Larry Earman. Motion passed without opposition.

Vice President- Chet Chaney nominated Nancy White. There was no other nomination and motion was made by Larry Earman with second by Dennis Nicodemus. Motion carried without opposition.

Secretary- Dennis Nicodemus nominated Laura Kunze. There was no other nomination. Motion was made by Dennis Nicodemus with second by Larry Earman. Motion carried without opposition.

Treasurer- Larry Earman nominated Ron Grossman. There were no other nominations. Dennis Nicodemus motioned and second was made by Larry Earman. Motion carried without opposition.

Executive Board Member- Chet Chaney nominated Joe Martin. There was no other nomination. Motion was made by Dennis Nicodemus with second by Larry Earman. Motion carried without opposition.

Business meeting portion was adjourned at 6:30 pm with motion by Alex Aryeh and second by Joe Martin.

Marissa Myers gave the Legislative Update of the Ohio Township Association on HB 444 Township Omnibus Bill. Her presentation included nuisance abatement, transfer of cemeteries, industrial development bonds, levy renewal commencement, special improvement districts.

Jennifer Kline presented on Ohio Public Works Commission funding process and qualifications.

Anne Petit and Laura Monick, Ohio Dept. of Commerce, discussed cemeteries. Their presentation included disinterment complaints and when legal documents are required. Discussion about COVID19 and possible risk of transmission from decedents even after embalming. They discussed employee screening activities, such as temperature checks, symptoms, and sanitizing efforts as well as poster resources available for posting.

Bethany Sanders, Franklin County Auditor's Office, presented on inside millage and the process to determine if inside millage is available. She also discussed Board of Revisions assistance available to residents with the appeals process.

The informational sessions concluded at 7:47 pm.